Just do it!

How many times have you ever wondered what it would have been like? How many times have you pondered the choice you didn’t make? How many have you wanted to kick yourself square in the ass for saying no to what you’ve always wanted to do because you were too scared to say yes? The decisions we make, make the life we live and sometimes the life we live isn’t what makes us happy. Me personally I’ve learned this lesson over and over, but I’ve also taken chances that didn’t work out. 
 

 I think too many people out there have had it instilled in them that college and a six figure corporate job is the only way to go. That everything else is just a silly dream that can’t support a real life. Security often seems to be held above happiness in society. That’s one value I have no intention on teaching my children. Forget a mansion and a yacht, hey I’m not saying it wouldn’t be nice. If what makes me happy puts me at that status level one day then I’ll take it, but I’m not going to exhaust myself doing a job that I hate to get there. 
 

 Sometimes you got to say screw it and just walk into the danger zone. What’s the worst that could happen? It doesn’t work out, big deal. I always feel better knowing it wasn’t for me rather than always wondering if it could have been. How many people do you think were told being a musician was a joke for a career? How many professional wrestlers were told that they’d never amount to anything? How many people who had a dream were told it was stupid so they never followed through? 
 

 Failure can be a hard pill to swallow, but regret will eat at you forever. Sometimes you have to throw caution in the wind and slap comfort in the face in order to be happy. If what you hate pays the bills and then some but what you love just pays the bills…… Why not pay the bills and smile? Life’s too short to not enjoy yourself, you only got one so make it count!

 

                                                                              By Jason Burum

Leave a comment