Rocket science made easy

   So a few weeks back me and my son took a little journey to the local corner store to pick up the usual suspects to accommodate our gourmet lunch (grilled cheese sandwiches). The owner of the store just happens to be Muslim so throughout the day he has to pray. Well that day we showed up he was inside screen door locked doing his thing. If any of you know any Muslims you know that during prayer nothing is a distraction. Nope not even that guy banging on your screen doing yelling as loud as possible because his need for a blunt wrap is more important than your beliefs!  During our wait outside we were accompanied by one of the neighborhood dealers a young Asian guy that lives a few houses away. As we stand and wait in that summer heat he turns to me and says “Is it hard?”

 I was confused, I had no clue what he was asking at first. So I asked “Is what hard?”

 “Being a father” I asked him if he was expecting and he was. He said his girlfriend was about eight weeks along and that at first he was excited but now he’s kind of scared. He said how selling weed isn’t profitable enough to take care of his family and how he didn’t want for his kid to grow up out here on the streets. That right there told me he genuinely waned something better for his child than the life he’s led up to this point.

 But the question at hand was “Is being a father hard?”

 I told him “It is what you make it” The honest truth is being a father isn’t as hard as it is challenging. It’s about having patience as much as it is about having love and compassion for your children. To me it’s not about buying love, it’s about developing it. Kids are sponges and they’re going to absorb the things you teach them. I’ve seen kid’s potty trained at sixteen months and I’ve seen kid’s five years old in diapers. It’s about the time you put in and the things you teach them, involvement is the number one thing in a child’s development. Personally all I want for my kids are for them to grow up to be good people. I don’t expect them to graduate from Harvard or become a baseball star or even the president. My expectations are nothing more than for them to grow up to genuine whole hearted good people.  There are people out there that feel having a child is nothing more than a huge inconvenience to they’re way of life and never do more than the bare minimum to keep that child alive and nothing more. But to people like the guy I talked with at the store it’s a blessing. It’s a new start to a new life, being able to change the negative into positive and do things you wouldn’t have followed through with before.

 Our children are the future of our existence. Just because you have a million dollars and I only have eighty cents doesn’t make you better than me, it just makes you different. If my son our daughter grow up to teach that lesson to their kid’s my job as a father will have been fully realized! The challenge of being a parent is amazing, just when I want to scream one of my kid’s does something to make me smile.

                                           By Jason Burum

Leave a Reply

